UP, Bihar MLC polls on April 26
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, April 02, 2012, 21:41
New Delhi: With the terms of members of State Legislative Councils of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar expiring on May 5 and 6 respectively, the Election Commission has announced holding biennial elections to them on April 26.

The Commission has decided that the notification for the Council elections of two states would be issued on April 9 and the last date of filing nominations is April 16. After scrutiny the next day, it has fixed April 19 as the last date for withdrawal of candidatures.

While polling would be held between 9 AM to 4 PM on April 26, counting would start at 5 PM the same day and the whole election process has to be completed by April 30.

Bihar has 11 members elected to its state Legislative Council, while Uttar Pradesh has 13 elected to its Council by the members of State Legislative Assemblies (by MLAs).

Among those MLCs from Bihar who are retiring on May 6 are Uday Narayan Rai, Chandan Bagchi, Tarakant Jha, Narendra Singh, Upendra Prasad, Nitish Kumar, Baleshwar Singh Bharti, Bhim Singh, Ramashraya Prasad Singh, Sushil Kumar Modi and Sanjay Singh.

The 13 Uttar Pradesh MLCs who's terms are expiring on May 5 are Ashok Dhawan, Kashi Nath, Khwaza Haleem, Pradeep Kumar, Dayaram, Naresh Chandra Uttam, Babu Singh, Rampati Ram, Rakesh Singh Rana, Ram Naresh Rawat, Ram Sharan Das, Sunil Kumar and Harpal Saini.


First Published: Monday, April 02, 2012, 21:41

Tag: MLC pollsUPBihar
comments powered by Disqus