UP Vidhan Parishad polls: Three SP aspirants enter fray

Last Updated: Saturday, May 29, 2010 - 18:32

Lucknow: Three Samajwadi Party candidates
on Saturday entered the fray for biennial elections to Uttar Pradesh
Legislative Council slated for June 10.

Former Minister Balram Yadav, sitting MLC Yaswant
Singh and Shyam Sunder Das Nishad, all SP candidates, filed
their nominations before the Returning Officer.
Chief Minister Mayawati and seven other BSP candidates
had already filed their papers.

Elections will be held for 13 Vidhan Parishad seats
which will fall vacant on July six.
Five of these seats are held by the Samajwadi Party,
two each by the BSP, the BJP and the RLD and one by the

One seat fell vacant following the death of BJP MLC
Sheema Rizvi.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Saturday, May 29, 2010 - 18:32

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus