Mahra files nomination for RS seat in U’khand
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, March 19, 2012, 16:31
Dehra Dun: Mahendra Singh Mahra, a close confidante of rebel Congress leader Harish Rawat, on Monday filed his nomination papers for the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Uttarakhand amid a persisting deadlock in the state unit of the party.

BJP too tried to exploit the fluid political situation by filing nominations of its two leaders Anil Goyal and Naresh Bansal making the contest interesting.

However, 11 rebel Congress MLAs supporting Rawat did not turn up at the Vidhan Sabha, despite a directive by PCC chief Yashpal Arya, who wanted all the MLAs to remain present in the House.

Earlier in the day, three more Congress MLAs took oath giving respite to beleaguered Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna, who is still struggling to expand his cabinet and face confidence vote as well as elect a new speaker.

The three Congress MLAs who took oath in the chamber of protem speaker Shailendra Mohan Singhal include senior party leader Indira Hridayesh (Haldwani), Madan Singh Bist (Dwarahaat) and Ganesh Godiyal (Srinagar).


First Published: Monday, March 19, 2012, 16:31

comments powered by Disqus