This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

No-trust motion against Uttarakhand government

PTI | Last Updated: Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 13:17

Dehradun: The Uttarakhand Assembly will on Tuesday take up a no-confidence motion against the Harish Rawat-led Congress government in the state.

The motion moved by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) would be debated on and the ruling party has issued a whip to all its legislators to be present during the Assembly proceedings.
The no-trust motion comes against the backdrop of the non-distribution of portfolios by the chief minister.

The Congress has 33 members in the 70-member house, while the BJP has 30 legislators. The Congress government survived on a razor thin majority due to the support of seven legislators - three from the Bahujan Samaj Party, and one from Uttarakhand Kranti Dal and three Independents.
Rawat took over as the state`s chief minister after Vijay Bahuguna was shown the door, allegedly because the party found his work unsatisfactory, especially in the rehabilitation of those hit by the June 2012 flash floods.

First Published: Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 13:17
comments powered by Disqus