Tarun Vijay files nomination for RS seat
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, June 07, 2010, 18:28
Dehradun: BJP candidate Tarun Vijay on Monday filed his nomination papers for the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Uttarakhand, elections for which are scheduled on June 17.

Vijay, BJP's national spokesman, who was accompanied by state party chief Bishan Singh Chufal and Chief Minister Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank, reached the office of Vidhan Sabha Secretary and Returning officer, Mahesh Chandra, and filed his nomination papers in two sets, official sources said here.

In each of the two sets, 10 party MLAs have proposed his name for the Upper House seat, which will be vacated on July 1. The seat is being currently held by Capt Satish Sharma of Congress.

Earlier, Vijay, also a journalist, visited the famous Tapkeshwar Mahadev temple here and offered prayers.

The election of Vijay to the Rajya Sabha seems certain as the BJP enjoys majority with 36 members in the House of 70. While three independents are also supporting BJP candidate, three-member Uttarakhand Kranti Dal, ruling party's ally, is yet to decide on the issue.


First Published: Monday, June 07, 2010, 18:28

comments powered by Disqus