This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

7 Maoist leaders granted political prisoner status

Last Updated: Wednesday, August 8, 2012 - 23:15

Kolkata: The Calcutta High Court on Wednesday granted political prisoner status to seven Maoist leaders and those running front organisations for them in West Bengal.

Justice K S Ahluwalia granted the political prisoner status to the seven charged under different sections of IPC, on a petition made by them.

The seven are Chatradhar Mahato, Sukhsanti Baske, Prasun Chatterjee, Sambhu Soren, Sagun Murmu, Gour Chakraborti and Venkatesh Reddy alias Telugu Dipak arrested from junglemahal.

While Telugu Dipak is a top Maoist leader, Chatradhar Mahato was founder of the People`s Committee Against Police Atrocities (PCPA).
Baske was the head of PCPA, which operated in the Lalgarh area after the arrest of Mahato.


First Published: Wednesday, August 8, 2012 - 23:15
comments powered by Disqus