Abhijit Mukherjee, Deepa Dasmunshi in fray as six Bengal constituencies go to polls

Last Updated: Wednesday, April 23, 2014 - 13:17

Zee Media Bureau

Kolkata: A total of 78 candidates will see their fates sealed in EVMs on Thursday when voters in six constituencies cast their ballots in second phase of polling in West Bengal tomorrow.

The constituencies are spread over the districts of Uttar Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur, Malda and Murshidabad districts in north and central Bengal.

Of the six seats, Congress had won Raiganj, Maldaha Uttar, Maldaha Dakshin, Jangipur and Murshidabad in the 2009 General Elections. The Balurghat seat was claimed by the RSP.
While the Congress had contested the 2009 polls in alliance with the TMC, both the parties are fighting alone this time around.

President Pranab Mukherjee`s son Abhijit and Mamata Banerjee`s bete noire Deepa Dasmunshi are among the candidates.

Abhijit had won the Jangipur seat by a slender margin of 2,536 votes in a 2012 by-election when his father Pranab Mukherjee vacated the seat to become the President of India.
Interestingly, the TMC has chosen as its candidate the brother of ailing Congress leader and former Raiganj MP Priya Ranjan Dasmunshi, whose wife is Deepa, making it a contest within the family.

The other important candidates in fray are sitting MP Mausam Noor of Congress from Maldaha Uttar, where she is being challenged by popular band singer Soumitra Ray of TMC.

Abu Hashem Khan Chowdhury will seek re-election as a Congress nominee from Maldaha South where a total of 17 candidates are in the fray, one of the highest in the state.

A total of 83,06,756 voters will get the opportunity to exercise their franchise in the six seats spread. Of these, 43,00,732 are male voters, 40,05,930 are female voters and 94 are from the third gender.

(With PTI inputs)

First Published: Wednesday, April 23, 2014 - 13:17

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus