This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Amartya Sen receives special Rabindra Smriti Puraskar

Last Updated: Sunday, February 20, 2011 - 22:03

Kolkata: Nobel laureate Amartya Sen was on Sunday
awarded special Rabindra Smriti Puraskar by a state-level
committee instituted by the West Bengal government on the
occasion of the 150th birth anniversary celebrations of
Rabindranath Tagore.

An award of Rs one lakh was introduced by the committee as
Rabindra Smriti Puraskar (Rabindra memorial award).

The award was handed over to Sen by eminent poet Nirendra
Nath Chakraborty in the presence of Minister of State for
Information and Cultural Affairs SN Bera at a function at
the Bangla Academy here.

Sen thanked the state government for the honour.


First Published: Sunday, February 20, 2011 - 22:03
comments powered by Disqus