This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Buddhadeb the second sitting WB CM to taste election defeat

Last Updated: Saturday, May 14, 2011 - 20:27

Kolkata: Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee is the
second sitting chief minister in West Bengal after late
Prafulla Chandra Sen to bow out of office after accepting
electoral defeat in the state.

Sen, a veteran Congressman and chief minister from
July 8, 1962 to March 15, 1967, was defeated by his one-time
ministerial colleague Ajay Mukherjee of Bangla Congress at
Arambagh assembly constituency in the fourth general election
in 1967 by only 881 votes.
In the elections, Congress lost power in the state,
paving way for the first United Front government led by Ajay
In the just-concluded assembly elections,
Bhattacharjee of the CPI-M received a severe drubbing from a
former chief secretary Manish Gupta of the Trinamool Congress
at his Jadavpur constituency and lost the seat he held since
1987 by a wide margin of 16,684 votes.


First Published: Saturday, May 14, 2011 - 20:27
comments powered by Disqus