Associate Sponsor

Dy Mayor lost Kolkata civic body election

Last Updated: Wednesday, June 2, 2010 - 18:40

Kolkata: The Deputy Mayor, three members of
the Mayor-in-Council, and the leader of the Opposition in the
Kolkata Municipal Corporation today lost the civic body polls.

Deputy mayor Kalyan Mukherjee, MMiCs Subodh De (health),
Faiyaj Ahmed Khan (parks and gardens) and Abu Sufiyan (bustee
development) lost the elections.

Leader of the Opposition in KMC Javed Ahmed Khan
(Trinamool Congress) was defeated in ward number 64.

The Mayor of the outgoing civic body Bikash Ranjan
Bhattacharya did not contest the election.

Interestingly, a Trinamool Congress candidate wins from
ward number 100 which was Bhattacharya`s ward.

Chairman of the municipal house Nirmal Mukherjee also did
not contest the election.


First Published: Wednesday, June 2, 2010 - 18:40

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus