GJM calls 72-hour strike, to `recall` four MLAs

Last Updated: Sunday, June 10, 2012 - 21:54

Darjeeling (WB): Hardening its stance on inclusion of additional areas in the new hill council in Darjeeling Gorkhaland Territorial Administration, the GJM on Sunday vowed to `resist` election to the new set-up and called for a 72-hour strike while announcing that its four MLAs would resign.

At the same time, the GJM decided to keep the door open for talks with the state government and appealed to Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee to grant it an early appointment for discussion.
"These decisions were taken at a meeting of the GJM central committee members, leaders of its women and youth wings as also those of the GJM`s Dooars and Terai Co-ordination Committee and presided over by GJM president Bimal Gurung," its general secretary Roshan Giri (rpt Roshan Giri) told a press conference after the meeting.
"The recommendation of the Justice (retd) Shamyal Sen is humiliating and insulting to us. We will not accept the election to GTA and we will resist it," Giri said while briefing the media after a marathon nearly five-hour-long meeting.

He said his party would also like to hold talks with the government on the issue and accordingly it would seek an early appointment with the chief minister to put across their views.

"If we get the appointment, a 21-member high-powered delegation, including the four MLAs and other central commmittee members of the party besides top leaders of our women and youth wings, would meet her," he said.

He said on June 12, GJM units, including those at the block and zonal levels, would write to the chief minister and the Darjeeling district magistrate communicating the GJM`s unhappiness over the recommendations of the Shyamal Sen committee.
Giri said on June 27 the chairman and councillors of the Darjeeling, Kurseong, Kalimpong and Mirik would resign from their posts over the issue.

"On July two, three and four we will call a strike in Darjeeling, Dooars and Terai", he said.


First Published: Sunday, June 10, 2012 - 21:54

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 122 122 76
SHS 63 63 19
INC 42 42 -40
NCP 41 41 -21
MNS 1 1 -12
OTH 19 19 -22
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 47 47 43
INLD 19 19 -12
INC 15 15 -25
HJCBL 2 2 -4
OTH 7 7 -2
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map