GJM MLAs to sit in Opposition bench in WB Assembly

Last Updated: Sunday, May 25, 2014 - 23:24

Darjeeling (WB): The three MLAs of Gorkha Janamukti Morcha, which is demanding separate Gorkhaland state in Darjeeling hills, have decided to sit in the Opposition bench in West Bengal Assembly, party sources said on Sunday.

GJM MLAs -- Harka Bahadur Chettri, Rohit Sharma and Trilok Dewan, who represent Kalimpong, Kurseong and Darjeeling Assembly seats respectively -- have decided to sit in the Opposition instead of the treasury bench, sources said here.
GJM supported BJP candidate S S Ahluwalia in the recently- held Lok Sabha polls from Darjeeling constituency. Ahluwalia won the election after defeating Trinamool Congress candidate footballer Bhaichung Bhutia.

Three GJM MLAs supported Trinamool Congress-led West Bengal government after 2011 Assembly polls.
Chettri, who is also GJM spokesperson, will soon seek permission from the Speaker of the Assembly to sit on the Opposition bench, GJM leaders said.


First Published: Sunday, May 25, 2014 - 23:24

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus