Sitting Congress MLAs threaten to contest as Independents

Two sitting party MLAs Ram Piyare Ram and Abdul Khalek Molla, who saw themselves shifted from their constituencies, threatened to contest as Independent candidates.

Kolkata: Continuing to oppose the Congress
decision to enter into a seat-sharing agreement on Trinamool
Congress` terms, two sitting party MLAs Ram Piyare Ram and
Abdul Khalek Molla, who saw themselves shifted from their
constituencies, today threatened to contest as Independent

Ram, a six-time MLA from Kavitirtha, now known as Kolkata
port constituency after delimitation in the south-western part
of the city, said, ``He was `extremely shocked` to find
himself removed from his long-held constituency this time and
threatened to contest the seat as an Independent candidate
`under pressure from my voters`.``

``There was a deep-rooted conspiracy to remove me from
the constituency and it was a meek surrender by the AICC to
leave the seat to Trinamool Congress,`` Ram said to a news agency.

Ram said he returned today from Delhi where he met Union
Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee and discussed the question
of leaving the seat to Trinamool Congress.

The Congress leader said he would take the final call
tomorrow after seeking opinion of `local people` on the
question of contesting as an Independent candidate.

``My party has done a grave mistake which my voters will
not forgive and still they repose faith in me and want me to
contest,`` Ram said adding that the question of launching
a campaign would follow.

Abdul Khalek Molla, sitting Congress MLA from Gardenreach,
now named Metiaburuz after delimitation of the constituency,
strongly resented his being left out of the seat which had
been given to Trinamool Congress.

Resolving to contest as Independent candidate, Molla
regretted, ``Due to some unknown reasons, my party Congress
sacrificed this constituency to Trinamool Congress.``

Dissension among Congress leaders in North Dinajpur,
Murshidabad and Nadia district had already surfaced with Deepa
Dasmunshi and Adhir Ranjan Chaudhury (both Congres MPs) and
Nadia district Congress chief Shankar Singh coming down
heavily on the party high command for `sacrificing the
winnable seats to Trinamool Congress under the new
seat-sharing agreement`.

The three Congress leaders said they would strongly
resist any attempt to give away any seat to Trinamool
Congress, rejecting high command instruction to launch a joint


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link