Trinamool Cong not to support Congress in RS poll

TMC has decided not to support Congress nominees, if any, in the Rajya Sabha polls in West Bengal.

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress has decided not
to support Congress nominees, if any, in the Rajya polls in
West Bengal and has re-nominated party MP and union minister
Mukul Roy while giving tickets to three journalists.

Announcing this on Friday, Trinamool Congress
secretary-general Partha Chatterjee told reporters that while
Roy, union minister of state shipping, would be renominated
as Rajya Sabha member, the three other nominees were
journalists Kunal Ghosh, Md Nadimul Haque and Vivek Gupta.

While Ghosh is a senior journalist of Bengali daily
"Pratidin" and also the CEO of a local Bengali channel, Haque
is the editor of Urdu daily newspaper "Akhbar-e-Mashriq" and
Gupta the editor of Hindi daily "Sanmarg".

Trinamool supremo Mamata Banerjee`s giving a thumbs down
to the state Congress leadership`s plea for a Rajya Sabha seat
came a couple of days after she sought the removal of party
leader and Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi.

West Bengal Pradesh Congress president Pradip
Bhattacherjee had earlier said that his party was keen to
contest one seat and wanted Trinamool Congress` support.

Asked whether Congress would give a walk-over to
the Trinamool Congress or contest the election, he said today
"it is for the party high command to take a final call on
this. This is a matter to be decided by the party high

Five nominees from Bengal will be elected to the Rajya
Sabha as five seats will fall vacant on April 2. Election will
be held on March 30.

Besides Mukul Roy, Mamata`s trusted lieutenant whose name
has been forwarded as replacement for Dinesh Trivedi, the four
other MPs whose terms are expiring are Tapan Sen, Mainul
Hassan, Suman Pathak and R C Singh, all from the Left.

On the basis of its strength in the 294-member assembly,
Trinamool Congress, with 185 seats, is in a comfortable
position to send three members to the Upper House of

Congress has 42 members in the assembly, seven
less than the required number. It is also banking on the
support of one independent.

The Left Front with 61 members can win one seat.
Each candidate has to get the votes of 49 legislators
to be elected to the Rajya Sabha.

The Left Front has renominated CPI(M) labour wing
CITU leader Tapan Sen.

Asked how confident the party was to win the fourth
seat, he said "we will have no difficulty in winning the
hearts of the legislators. In the past, we have supported
Congress candidates. Candidates have been selected by
rotation and we hope they (Congress) will accept it."

Gorkha Janamukti Morcha (GJM) has four seats,
including an independent backed by it, and SUCI-C has one

GJM had earlier requested the Trinamool chief to allot
one seat to it to represent Darjeeling hills.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link