Trinamool Congress turns Bengal green

Last Updated: Saturday, May 14, 2011 - 18:15

Kolkata: The map of West Bengal has
turned green with intermittent patches of red as the Mamata
Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress swept to power bulldozing the
CPIM-led Left Front with a success rate of over 81 per cent.

The party which fielded candidates in 227 of the 294
constituencies bagged 184 seats with a success rate of 81.05
per cent.

In the 2006 assembly election, TC had managed to win
only 30 seats with a vote percentage of 26.64.
Trinamool`s ally Congress also encashed on the
people`s mood for change and improved its performance in the
just-concluded assembly poll.

Congress which had contested in 65 constituencies,
achieved a success rate of 64.61 per cent securing 42 seats
compared to 21 won by it in 2006 election.

That its alliance with TC paid dividends was clear
from the fact that its tally in the last election was half
when it had contested alone.

The success of the TC was not limited to any
particular pocket and the party breached the traditional left
stronghold like West Midnapore, Purulia, Bankura, Burdwan,
Howrah and Hooghly.

TC`s success was so spectacular this time that it even
dwarfed its performance in the 2009 Lok Sabha poll.
Compared to the Lok Sabha elections held two years ago
when TC had a lead in 14 of the 16 seats in Howrah, this time
the party made a clean sweep in the district snapping up all
the seats with the CPI(M) and its left allies drawing a blank.

In neighbouring Hooghly district also Trinamool scored
a splendid victory capturing 16 of the 18 seats.

Here also the party improved its showing compared to
the 2009 Lok Sabha poll when it had a lead in 10

What could have been unthinkable in the past has
happened in this election with CPI(M)-led Left pushed to the
wall even in districts like Bankura and Purulia.

Of the 12 seats in Bankura, TC won nine and bagged
seven out of nine seats in Purulia.
In another red bastion of Burdwan, TC inflicted a
humiliating defeat on the Marxists capturing 17 of the 25
seats in the district. Even CPI(M) politburo member Nirupam
Sen was defeated at the hands of TMC candidate by a huge
margin of over 36,000 votes in Burdwan South.

Riding on its movement against land acquisition in
Nandigram, Trinamool made inroads into the East Midnapore
since the 2008 panchayat poll. The party had taken lead in all
the 16 assembly segments during the 2009 Lok Sabha election
and retained its total hold this time as well.

Compared to 2006, when it was red all over from
Cooch Behar in North Bengal to West Midnapore, the situation
has reversed this time with green dotting all corners of the

CPI(M)`s performance was so dismal that even its own
leadership found it hard to believe. Outgoing Chief Minister
Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee and Left Front chairman Biman Bose
have described the people`s verdict as "unexpected".

The Marxist party which had fielded candidates in 211
seats, manged to score a success rate of just about 19 per
cent as the party barely managed to return only 40 nominees.

CPI(M) had bagged 176 seats on its own in 2006 with
37.13 per cent voteshare.

Its key allies, Forward Bloc, RSP and CPI also failed
to put up a spirited performance. FB which had contested 34
seats could achieve a success rate of slightly over 32 per
cent while RSP and CPI managed to have success rate of 30.43 and
14.2 per cent.

Trinamool Congress not only made a dent into the
erstwhile Left strongholds, but also made major inroads among
the minorities as the party bagged a majority of the 125 seats
where minority community has a sizeable presence.


First Published: Saturday, May 14, 2011 - 18:15

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus