Trinamool to oppose reforms despite truce over prez polls

Last Updated: Thursday, July 19, 2012 - 22:28

Kolkata: Hinting that a truce with Congress on presidential polls would not make her backtrack on the opposition to proposed reforms, Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee on Thursday vowed to oppose forward trading, FDI in multi-brand retail, soaring food and petroleum prices and the privatisation of pension funds.

"Despite the party`s stand on the Presidential polls, policies would be driven by the commitments made in the election manifesto," Banerjee was quoted by a party source as telling her party MPs at a meeting here after the presidential polls.

"She reiterated the party`s opposition to three proposed bills -- additional FDI in pension, forward trading and FDI in multi-brand retail," the source told PTI.

Banerjee, who met all party MPs at a luncheon at her chamber in the assembly, formed a six-member committee of party MPs ahead of the monsoon session of parliament to examine the tabled and proposed bills.

"The party strategy for the forthcoming monsoon session of Parliament was discussed," the source said.

The core group, to meet on a regular basis, comprised three members of the party from Lok Sabha -- two union ministers Sudip Bandyopadhay and Saugata Roy and Subrata Bakshi and three from Rajya Sabha, Railway minister Mukul Roy, Derek O`Brien and Debabrata Bandyopadhay.

"The group was set up for scrutiny of the contents of all bills being considered for legislation in Parliament and provide summary to the party chairperson Mamata Banerjee," the source said.

Meanwhile, party insiders said the TMC supremo took exception to party Rajya Sabha member Sukhendu Sekhar Roy attending the lunch hosted by Congress president Sonia Gandhi yesterday in Delhi ahead of the Presidential election without being authorised by the party.

Banerjee had reportedly said the party had deputed another Rajya Sabha member KD Singh to attend the lunch.

TMC is the second largest constituent in the UPA with 19 MPs in Lok Sabha and 9 in Rajya Sabha.


First Published: Thursday, July 19, 2012 - 22:28

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus