Two Congress MLAs to join Mamata`s Trinamool

Last Updated: Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 19:13

Kolkata: Two Congress MLAs are likely to soon join Trinamool Congress and may be inducted in Mamata Banerjee ministry in a cabinet reshuffle scheduled next week, setting the stage for fresh confrontation between the two former allies.

"Two MLAs Humayan Kabir and Krishnendu Chowdhury are expected to join TMC on November 20," Trinamool Congress all-India general secretary Mukul Roy told a news agency here.

Reacting sharply to the development, WBPCC chief Pradip Bhattacharya said "This has made it clear that the sole agenda of Trinamool Congress is to break up the Congress in Bengal.

"But take it from me, the Congress will prove its organisational strength in Murshidabad by winning the Rejinagar seat," Bhattacharya said.

Mukul Roy, refused to comment on Bhattacherjee`s charge, saying "I wont` say anything now. We will state whatever we have to say at an appropriate time."

In an apparent jolt before next year`s panchayat election, Kabir, the Congress MLA from Rejinagar said he was assured a ministerial berth by the chief minister in a cabinet reshuffle expected to be held on November 21.

"During a meeting with Mamatadi she told me to inform her of my decision by November 16. She has assured me of a berth in the cabinet reshuffle," Kabir, the Murshidabad district Congress secretary RPT secretary, said.

"I will formally join TMC on November 20 after quitting all posts in the Congress," Kabir told the agency over phone from his Rejinagar home.

He said he would resign as Congress MLA and contest a fresh election on TMC ticket from Rejinagar.

The Trinamool Congress parted ways with Congress-led UPA government in September over big ticket reforms.


First Published: Wednesday, November 14, 2012 - 19:13

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 122 122 76
SHS 63 63 19
INC 42 42 -40
NCP 41 41 -21
MNS 1 1 -12
OTH 19 19 -22
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 47 47 43
INLD 19 19 -12
INC 15 15 -25
HJCBL 2 2 -4
OTH 7 7 -2
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map