WB polls: 8 ministers dropped from Left Front list

As per the list, CM Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee has been renominated from Jadavpur seat.

Kolkata: Eight ministers were on Sunday dropped
from the list of contestants for the West Bengal Assembly
polls with the Left Front announcing 149 new candidates,
apparently to counter anti-incumbency.

Assembly Speaker HA Halim will not contest the elections
to the 294-member House, beginning April 18, on health ground.

The list of Left Front candidates, announced by Left
Front Chairman Biman Bose at a press conference here, does not
carry the names of eight ministers, including Manab
Mukherjee (Tourism Development) and Partha Dey (School

As per the list, finalised at a meeting of the Left
Front, Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee has been
renominated from Jadavpur seat.

Industry Minister Nirupam Sen has been renominated from
Burdwan (South) as also Health Minister Surya Kanta Mishra
from Narayangar. Urban Development Minister Ashok
Bhattacharaya has been fielded in Siliguri, Sports Minister
Kanti Ganguly in Raidighi, Land and Revenue Minister Abdul
Rezzak Mollah in Canning (East) and IT Minister Debesh Das in

Constituencies of some ministers have been changed,
including that of Housing Development Minister Goutam


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link