West Bengal: 17 post poll deaths
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Monday, June 27, 2011, 23:36
Kolkata: Political violence in West Bengal since the May assembly elections has left 17 activists dead, the state government on Monday said.

Of those killed, eight belonged to CPI-M, six to Trinamool Congress and three to Congress, Industry Minister Partha Chatterjee told the Assembly today.

The police have also been asked to work in an impartial and transparent manner to instill a sense of security among the people, he said.

Chatterjee was replying to a supplementary question from Trinamool member Kallol Khan, to a calling attention motion in the House.

Earlier, reading out a statement of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in reply to a calling attention motion by CPI-M's Upen Kisku, Chatterjee said CPI-M leaders Ajit Lohar and Samir Nag were attacked by miscreants on May 5 while they were returning home at Taldangra in Bankura district.

In another statement of Banerjee in reply to a calling attention by Khan and Samir Poddar, Chatterjee said the bullet-riddled body of Moinuddin Molla, Trinamool Congress youth leader of South 24-Parganas Bhogali-2 gram panchayat, was found on the Muraridanga ground under Barasat police station on June 12.

Noting that Molla was a supplier of building material and was involved in buying and selling of land, the statement said a case of murder has been registered at the Deganga police station on the basis of a complaint by the victim's nephew.


First Published: Monday, June 27, 2011, 23:36

comments powered by Disqus