China plans to sign extradition treaties with countries
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Saturday, January 14, 2012, 23:17
Beijing: China plans to sign extradition treaties with number of countries to facilitate the repatriation of 4,000 Chinese criminals holding on USD 50 billion illegally obtained funds.

The treaties will also help "promote cooperation with other countries, Huang Huikang, director-general of the Department of Treaty and Law at the Chinese Foreign Ministry, said.

Huang said China is also in discussions with other countries to establish international prisoner transfer treaties, which would allow individuals who have committed crimes and been sentenced by the other country to be transferred to their home country.

"All the work has but one goal, which is no matter what crimes they have committed and no matter where they have fled to, we will bring them back," he told state run China Daily today.

China has made some encouraging achievements in repatriating criminals citing extradition of China's most wanted man, Lai Changxing, was finally repatriated from Canada last year in June after being on the run for 12 years.

Lai who is accused of being the mastermind of a multi- billion-dollar smuggling operation in China in the 1990s is being tried in a court.

Huang said the country still has a long way to go in repatriating criminals and recovering their illegally obtained proceeds.

"Since China and the West - where criminals often seek shelter - have differences in political ideology and legal systems, cooperation has not often been smooth," Huang said.

According to the Central Commission for Discipline Inspection of the Communist Party of China, about 4,000 officials have absconded from the Chinese mainland over the last 30 years, along with more than USD 50 billion in illegally obtained funds, the Daily reported.

China has so far signed the treaty with nine countries for transfer of sentenced prisoners. They include Ukraine, Russia, Spain, Portugal, Australia, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, South Korea and Thailand.


First Published: Saturday, January 14, 2012, 23:16

comments powered by Disqus