This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Chinese Parl finalises names of new President, Premier

Last Updated: Wednesday, March 13, 2013 - 20:29

Beijing: China`s Parliament on Wednesday finalised the names of the country`s new President, Premier and other ministers, who will succeed the administration headed by Hu Jintao.

A name list of candidates for China`s top leaders, including top lawmaker and state President, was finalised for voting tomorrow in the 3,000-strong National People`s Congress (NPC).

It is a foregone conclusion that China`s rubber stamp parliament will elect the new General Secretary of the ruling Communist Party of China (CPC) Xi Jinping, 59, as President. He has already taken over as military chief succeeding Hu.

The number two leader, 57-year-old Li Keqiang will take over as Premier succeeding Wen Jiabao.
The presidium NPC adopted by voting the final list of candidates for chairman, vice-chairpersons, secretary-general and members of the NPC Standing Committee, president and vice-president of the state, and chairman of the Central Military Commission, state-run Xinhua news agency reported quoting a statement.
The list, which was proposed at yesterday`s third presidium meeting and distributed to all delegations for discussion, will be put on voting at a plenary meeting of the NPC session, the statement said.


First Published: Wednesday, March 13, 2013 - 20:28

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus