This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Five new members elected to UNSC

The UN General Assembly elected Chad, Chile, Lithuania, Nigeria and Saudi Arabia to a two-year term in the UN Security Council.

New York: The UN General Assembly on Thursday elected Chad, Chile, Lithuania, Nigeria and Saudi Arabia to a two-year term in the UN Security Council (UNSC), the organisation`s most powerful body.

The new members will begin their two-year term on January 01, 2014, replacing Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Morocco, Pakistan and Togo, Xinhua reported. All the five new council members were elected in the single round of secret ballots at the General Assembly.

Nigeria garnered 186 votes, Chad won 184 votes, Saudi Arabia 176, Lithuania 187 and Chile 186, said John William Ashe, the president of the UN General Assembly.

Chad, Saudi Arabia and Lithuania have never served on the most powerful UN body while Nigeria and Chile have both been on the council four times previously.

To be elected, a country must win support from two-thirds of the 193 General Assembly members, or 129 votes.

According to the UN Charter, the 10 non-permanent members of the Security Council are elected by the General Assembly, with five elected in October each year.

The remaining five seats belong to the veto-wielding permanent members, namely Britain, China, France, Russia and the US.

Under the UN Charter, the Security Council has the primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions


photo gallery



K8 Plus: Lenovo's new phone available @ Rs 10,999

Heavy security outside Dera Sacha Sauda headquarters in Sirsa as search operation begins

WATCH Exclusive: After Doklam standoff, India begins road construction near LAC

Hurricane Irma, rampaging through Caribbean, is most enduring super-storm on record

Three train derailments in 1 day, fourth accident narrowly-averted

China says Indian Army chief's views contrary to those expressed by Modi, Xi