Germany, Canada, Portugal battle for UNSC seat

Each non-permanent country stays on the UN Security Council for two years.

New York: Germany led furious last-minute lobbying to get one of five seats on the UN Security Council to be decided in a vote on Tuesday.

Germany, Portugal and Canada are battling for the only seat not decided in advance. A victory for Germany would boost its new campaign to become one of the permanent nations on the 15 member council, the main global body charged with the keeping international peace and security.

Five of the 10 non-permanent seats must be changed and four have been decided by regional groupings. India will take over from Japan for the Asian region, Colombia takes Mexico`s seat for Latin America and South Africa takes the place of Uganda for Africa.

The three European states are in competition for two seats for an unofficial group for 24 Western European nations plus Canada, Australia and New Zealand. It is the only group that failed to endorse nominations in advance.

German Foreign Minister Guido Westerwelle was in New York on Monday making sure of his country`s predicted success in Tuesday`s vote at the 192-member UN General Assembly. Canada`s Foreign Minister Lawrence Cannon was also expected.

"The race isn`t over yet, it will be very close," Westerwelle told reporters in between meetings. "Canada and Portugal are two very good competitors."

"We are running for the seat in order to pursue a policy of disarmament and peaceful conflict resolution," he added.

"We have strong arguments in our favour: our commitment to peace, development and climate change. On these issues Germany has an excellent reputation around the world."

He also stressed that Germany is the third largest donor to the United Nations.

Westerwelle said Germany wants broad reform of the United Nations and the Security Council on top of the non-permanent seat.

"Today`s Security Council reflects the world`s power architecture after World War II. It should reflect the power structure of today`s world," he said.

Westerwelle recently met counterparts from Japan, India and Brazil about launching a new reform campaign at the United Nations.

Each non-permanent country stays on the council for two years, alongside the permanent powers: Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States, who have the right to veto any council resolution.

Canada has been pressing its case against Portugal and Germany by saying that Europe should not have both seats from the group.

Austria and Turkey are giving up the seats to be replaced.