Indonesia says it will ratify CTBT
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, May 05, 2010, 19:19
United Nations: Indonesia's Foreign Minister Marty Natalegawa has said that his country would soon ratify the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT).

Apart from Indonesia, the CTBT needs only eight ratifications - China, Egypt, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), India, Iran, Israel, Pakistan and the US ? before it can enter into force.

"We've been absolutely clear in expressing our support to the noble objectives of the CTBT," Natalegawa told reporters, noting that they had held back ratifying the treaty in order to pressure nuclear states to do so first.

"We do feel that at this time, what is needed is positive encouragement rather than pressure of a different type that we've been trying to impart in the past," he added.

Indonesia made the declaration on the sidelines of the Review Conference of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, which is held every five years to assess the strengths and weaknesses of the treaty that is built on three pillars of disarmament, non-proliferation and peaceful use of nuclear energy.

Natalegawa also urged the US and other nuclear states to ratify the treaty expeditiously.

So far, the CTBT has 182 signatories, which has been ratified by more than 150 countries.


First Published: Wednesday, May 05, 2010, 19:19

comments powered by Disqus