This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Mario Vargas Llosa wins Nobel literature prize

Peruvian Mario Vargas Llosa, one of the most acclaimed writers, won the 2010 Nobel Prize in literature.

Stockholm: Peruvian Mario Vargas Llosa, one
of the most acclaimed writers in the Spanish-speaking world,
won the 2010 Nobel Prize in literature on Thursday.

The Swedish Academy said it honoured the 74-year-old
author "for his cartography of structures of power and his
trenchant images of the individual`s resistance, revolt and

Vargas Llosa has written more than 30 novels, plays
and essays, including "Conversation in the Cathedral" and "The
Green House." In 1995, he was awarded the Cervantes Prize, the
Spanish-speaking world`s most distinguished literary honour.

His international breakthrough came with the 1960s
novel "The Time of The Hero."

Vargas Llosa is the first South American winner of the
prestigious Nobel Prize in literature since it was awarded to
Colombian writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez in 1982.


From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions


photo gallery



A wearable sticker that can prevent sexual assault

Neymar set to move to Paris Saint Germain

Council in Pakistan orders Revenge Rape of a 16-Year-Old

Photographing the world from a plane

Indian female cops are out in full force to protect women

Delhi's Mini Afghanistan: Far from war, these Afghanis have found their home in India