This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

New Zealand offers to buy 5,000 quake-hit homes

The government estimated the cost of moving the first 5,000 homeowners at up to USD 500 million.

Wellington: New Zealand`s government said on Thursday that it has offered to pay thousands of homeowners to leave areas of the country`s second-largest city that were hardest hit by recent earthquakes.

Christchurch was struck by a magnitude-7.1 earthquake in September and a devastating magnitude-6.3 quake in February that killed 181 people and crippled much of the city.

The government said it has offered to pay about 5,000 Christchurch homeowners to leave and have their homes razed, with certain swaths of land remaining too unstable for rebuilding. The future of an additional 10,000 homes, many of which may also need to be destroyed, is still being assessed.

The government estimated the cost of moving the first 5,000 homeowners at up to USD 500 million.

Prime Minister John Key said the total cost of the earthquakes amounted to more than USD 15 billion — about 8 percent of the country`s annual economy. He compared that with Hurricane Katrina, saying the damage from that disaster amounted to about 1 percent of the US annual economy.

Key said recent months have been tough for residents of Christchurch, which continues to be rattled by large aftershocks.

"The people want to know what the future holds, and they`ve been through so much and shown such great resilience," he said at a news conference in Christchurch.

He emphasised that Thursday`s announcement did not signal an end of efforts to help the city bounce back from the quakes.

"The government remains fully committed to rebuilding Christchurch," he said.

Officials also said they have divided the city into four zones: red, orange, white and green. Red indicates homes will likely be destroyed and the land won`t be rebuilt upon any time soon. Orange means homes may need to be destroyed and land cleared. White indicates officials are still assessing the land, and green means the land has been given the all-clear sign and people can begin to rebuild or repair their homes.

The government has set up a website — — to help residents figure out which zone they fall in.

Bureau Report

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions


photo gallery



K8 Plus: Lenovo's new phone available @ Rs 10,999

Heavy security outside Dera Sacha Sauda headquarters in Sirsa as search operation begins

WATCH Exclusive: After Doklam standoff, India begins road construction near LAC

Hurricane Irma, rampaging through Caribbean, is most enduring super-storm on record

Three train derailments in 1 day, fourth accident narrowly-averted

China says Indian Army chief's views contrary to those expressed by Modi, Xi