Nigeria Supreme Court fires 5 governors

Last Updated: Friday, January 27, 2012 - 21:45

Abuja: Nigeria`s Supreme Court says
it has fired five governors who overstayed their tenures.
Justice Walter Onnoghen said on Friday that the governors of
Bayelsa, Cross River, Kogi, Adamawa and Sokoto states should
have left office in May 2011.

The ruling-party governors first came into office in May
2007 for four-year tenures, but their elections were annulled.
After a re-election, they took a second oath of office in

A lower court`s ruling on February 23, 2011 had exempted
the five governors from having to face elections in April
2011, saying their new tenures had started in 2008, not 2007.

However, the Supreme Court now says it is
unconstitutional for anyone to hold office for more than four


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Friday, January 27, 2012 - 21:45

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus