This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Nigeria`s President sacks nine ministers

Last Updated: Thursday, September 12, 2013 - 16:26

From Abuja: Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan today sacked nine members of his 42-member cabinet, including Foreign Minister Ambassador Olugbenga Ashiru, in a major cabinet reshuffle amid tension within the ruling party.

Others affected were Environment Minister Hadiza Ibrahim Mailafa, National Planning Minister Shamsudden Usman, Education Minister Ruqayyatu Rufa`I, Science and Technology Minister Ita Okon Bassey Ewa and Housing Minister Ama Pepple.

Junior ministers sacked are Agriculture Minister Bukar Tijani Borno, Defence Minister Olusola Obada and Power Minister Zainab Kuchi.

Jonathan made the announcement after the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting held with all ministers and presided over by him.

The president had introduced a Performance Contract Agreement (PCA) with the ministers last August but said the ministers would not be removed based on the assessment.

Minister of Information Labaran Maku told the media after the removal of the ministers that a new list will soon be sent to the senate for approval.

Nigeria is Africa`s largest oil producer and has a population of over 150 million.


First Published: Thursday, September 12, 2013 - 16:26
comments powered by Disqus