No winner for African leadership award

Ibrahim Prize for African leadership is worth USD 5 million over 10 years.

Abuja: The annual prize to honour outstanding African leaders for good governance did not find any winner this year, the committee that recommends a frontrunner has announced.

The Ibrahim Prize for African leadership, instituted by the Mo Ibrahim Foundation in 2006, is worth USD 5 million (GBP 3.5 million) over 10 years and thereafter USD 200,000 a year.

"The Prize Committee met yesterday to discuss the award of the 2010 Mo Ibrahim Prize. Following its deliberations, the Prize Committee informed the Board of the Foundation that it had not selected a winner", the committee said in a statement.

Last year, the Prize Committee announced that it had considered some credible candidates, but after in depth review could not select a winner.

This year, the Committee told the Board that there had been no new candidates or new developments and that therefore no selection of a winner had been made.

The first winner of the Prize was Joaquim Chissano, former president of Mozambique in 2007, followed by Festus Mogae, former president of Botswana in 2008.

In addition, Nelson Mandela was made an Honorary Laureate in 2007.

Responding to the Prize Committee`s decision, Mo Ibrahim, the founder and chairman of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation, said the Board respects the decision of the Prize Committee not to select a winner for the 2010 prize adding that the Prize Committee, which is independent from the Board, is a unique repository of experience and expertise.

"Whether there is a winner or not, the purpose of the Foundation is to challenge those in Africa and across the world to debate what constitutes excellence in leadership" he said, adding that the standards set for the prize winner are high, and the number of potential candidates each year is small.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link