Tony Blair named 2010 Liberty Medal winner
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, June 30, 2010, 21:29
Philadelphia (US): Former British Prime Minister Tony Blair has been named the recipient of the 2010 Liberty Medal.

The medal will be presented to Blair on Sept. 13 in Philadelphia by former President Bill Clinton.

The National Constitution Centre offers history-based exhibits focused on the US Constitution and gives the annual award to those whose actions represent the founding principles of the United States.

The Honor carries a USD 100,000 cash prize.

The medal was first awarded in 1989. Previous winners have included rock singer and human rights activist Bono, former South African President Nelson Mandela and former US President Jimmy Carter.


First Published: Wednesday, June 30, 2010, 21:29

comments powered by Disqus