Cong appoints central observers in Maha, Haryana, Arunachal

New Delhi: Congress on Friday appointed in Maharashtra, Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh central observers to facilitate election of the party's chief ministers.

While senior leaders A K Antony, Digvijay Singh and K Rehman Khan have been named the observers for Maharashtra, general secretaries Prithviraj Chavan, Mohsina Kidwai and B K Hariprasad will do the job in Haryana.

Senior leaders Oscar Fernandes, Luizinho Faleiro and V Narayansami are the central observers for Arunachal Pradesh.

The announcement was made by AICC General Secretary Janardan Dwivedi.

The meeting of the new legislature party in Haryana will take place this evening.

Congress romped home victorious for a third straight term in Maharashtra, swept Arunachal Pradesh with a two-third majority but its snap poll gamble failed in Haryana where it fell short of six seats. The Congress-NCP combine ruling Maharashtra for the past ten years beat the anti-incumbency factor and won 144 seats in a House of 288.The combine needed just one seat more for a simple majority.

The spectacular showing in Arunachal Pradesh saw the Congress gain a two-third majority with 42 seats in he 60-member Assembly against 34 it had won last time.

Congress' loses 7.39 % vote share

Ruling Congress in Haryana has not just seen a drastic fall in its tally of seats in these assembly elections, but also a decline of 7.39 per cent in its vote percentage.

While the party had stormed to power in 2005 by winning 67 seats in the 90-member House trouncing the then INLD regime, this time around its tally has drastically come down to 40, registering a loss of 27 seats.

The party had a vote percentage of 42.46 in 2005 assembly polls which fell to 35.07 per cent this time, according to the data compiled by the State Election Department here.

Congress has lost heavily in north and central Haryana comprising Ambala, Yamuna Nagar, Kaithal, Jind and Karnal districts where opposition INLD has made a comeback.

The ruling party, however, has fared well in the Jat heartland comprising districts like Rohtak, Jhajjar and Sonepat, which also happen to be Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda's bastions where the party has bagged 13 of the 14 seats.

Having gone to polls seven months before schedule after an impressive performance in the Lok Sabha polls in which it retained nine out of ten seats, the Congress has seen a dent in its votebank in the multi-cornered contests on all the 90 assembly seats this time.

Bureau Report