Balmuchu stays Jharkhand PCC chief, 2 working presidents named

New Delhi: Seeking to keep its flock together in poll-bound Jharkhand, Congress on Saturday said state party chief Pradip Balmuchu will continue in his post and sought to mollify rebels by appointing two working presidents in the PCC.

"Pradip Balmuchu continues to be the PCC chief," the AICC said in a statement. The tribal leader was facing a strong rebellion from some senior party leaders in the state.

In a balancing act, the party appointed former MP from Godda Furqan Ansari and senior leader Rajendra Prasad Singh as PCC working presidents.

It also gave representation to leaders of anti-Balmuchu group in six committees constituted to look after the five-phase Assembly Elections beginning on November 27.

Balmuchu has been appointed Chairman of the 18-member Pradesh Election Committee in which Union Minister Subodh Kant Sahay and CLP leader Manoj Kumar Yadav are members.

Sahay has been made Chairman of the 29-member Campaign Committee in which a former minister in the undivided Bihar, O P Lal, has been made the convener.

Bureau Report