Five candidates file nominations in Jharkhand

Jamshedpur: Five candidates including former minister for land revenue Dulal Bhuiyan of JMM on Wednesday filed their nomination for the first phase of Jharkhand assembly polls slated for November 25.

Bhuiyan, who won Jugsalai seat twice including the last election in 2005 and Sarda Devi of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) have filed nomination papers for the seat.

While Independent candidate Tilo Sardar filed his nomination for Jamshedpur West assembly seat, a former BJP leader Madhulika Mehta (Independent) and Vijay Kumar Pandey of Samajwadi Party filed papers for the prestigious Jamshedpur East constituency.

Currently, Jamshedpur East constituency was being represented by BJP's state unit president Raghuvar Das, who was the labour minister in Babulal Marandi-led government and finance minister in Arjun Munda-led government in the state.

Das has been representing Jamshedpur East constituency for the last three assembly polls.

Bureau Report