72 MLAs take oath in newly formed Jharkhand assembly

Ranchi: Seventy two MLAs of the 81-member assembly in Jharkhand today took oath on the first day of the five-day session.

Protem Speaker, Teklal Mahto presided over the House during the oath taking ceremony.

Earlier, on December 30, the leader of BJP legislative party, Raghuvar Das and that of AJSU, Sudesh Mahto took oath as cabinet ministers along with Chief Minister Sibu Soren.

A Lok Sabha member, Soren will have to win an assembly seat within six months to retain his post as chief minister, the seventh one since creation of Jharkhand in 2000.

Former Chief Minister, Madhu Koda's wife, Geeta Koda, was one of those who took oath.