BASIC bloc to declare voluntary mitigation actions by Jan 31

BASIC bloc to declare voluntary mitigation actions by Jan 31 New Delhi: BASIC nations -- India, Brazil, South Afrcia and China – on Sunday said they would stick to the January 31 deadline and communicate information on voluntary mitigation actions to the UN climate change panel.

The announcement was made after a seven-hour meeting of the Environment ministers from the four countries, popular as the BASIC bloc, here this evening.

"The Ministers expressed their intention to communicate information on their voluntary mitigation actions to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change by January 31, 2010," a joint statement issued after the meeting said.

The ministers also asserted that the Copenhagen Accord will not become a legal document and its conclusions would be incorporated in the two-track negotiation process on climate talks.

The four ministers stressed on the importance of working closely with the Group of 77 countries to ensure an ambitious and equitable outcome in the next meet on climate change in Mexico through a transparent process.

The BASIC nations demanded the Denmark, the president of the Conference of Parties (CoP), convene immediately the meetings of the two negotiation groups in March and ensure that they meet on at least five more occasions.

These meetings are essential to make progress towards and agreed outcome at the 16th meeting of the CoP in Mexico in December.