Eleven Delhi Police personnel rewarded for catching criminals

New Delhi: Eleven Delhi Police personnel, including two inspectors, were on Tuesday rewarded with Rs 10,000 each for catching criminals involved in several prominent cases.

Commissioner Y S Dadwal awarded 'Asadharan Karya Puraskar' to two inspectors, two sub-inspectors, four head constables and three constables.

Inspector Brahm Pal Singh, SI Arun Tyagi, SI Ajay Kumar Singh, HC Ashok Kumar and Constable Shiv Kumar were rewarded for apprehending four men in connection with the kidnapping of a child in Kalkaji area.

Inspector Swadesh Parkash and Head Constables Mangal Ram and Ashok Kumar were selected for the award for their role in cracking an inter-state gang of robbers.

Head Constable Ashok Kumar and Constable Virender were rewarded for arresting Ravi Kapoor, who had ran away from the police custody on October 19 last year by throwing chilly powder in the eyes of Assistant Sub Inspector Umed Pal. Kapoor was earlier arrested in the sensational murder cases of Soumaya Vishvanathan and Jigisha Ghosh.

Constable Naresh Chand was selected for the reward for arresting a robber, Rakesh.