Deployment rate for CRPF increased by Rs 1.5 cr per year

New Delhi: State governments seeking to use CRPF personnel for law and order and other operational duties will have to shell out an additional Rs 1.5 crore per year as the Centre has enhanced the deployment rate of the force to almost Rs 29.5 crore for a strength of 1,000 troops.

The Finance ministry in a recent notification has also enhanced the deployment rate for the blue dungaree anti-riot wing of the para-military -- Rapid Action Force (RAF) -- and brought it on the same payment benchmark of Rs 29.40 crore per battalion (1,000 men) as that of a regular CRPF unit.

According to sources, almost 98 per cent of the 2.70 lakh personnel-strong force are on deployment at a given time in various states and insurgency-affected and Naxal-hit areas of the country.

Calculations bring the cost of one CRPF man's duties, to be reimbursed by the state for one day, to around Rs 850. The personnel, however, are reimbursed by the salary they draw from the budget earmarked for the force.

The Central government has drastically revised the rates for Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) as till January this year, the forces' deployment rate was only 19.11 crore per battalion per year which was enhanced by almost ten crore to Rs 28 crore in March and it was again enhanced to Rs 29.40 crore in April.

The current rates will be in force till the next financial year.

The rates have been revised keeping in mind the increase in expenditure and addition in salary benefits and other special emoluments of the troops for serving in difficult locations, sources said.

The money will be used to build infrastructure and enhance the quality of life of the CRPF jawans and officers in the field, they said.

While a regular CRPF battalion has seven companies, an RAF battalion has four companies with around 100 personnel in each company.

The new notification is not applicable for the deployment of the force and the RAF in Union Territories, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir and North Eastern states like Meghalaya, Manipur, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram and Sikkim.