Maharashtra Council polls: All nominations found valid

Mumbai: Nomination papers filed by all the 12 candidates for the biennial election to the Maharashtra Legislative Council on June 10 have been found valid.

The scrutiny of papers took place today and the nomination papers of three each candidates of Congress and NCP, two each of Shiv Sena and BJP, and two independents have been found valid, Legislature Principal Secretary Anant Kalse, who is the Returning officer for the election, said.

The presence of two Independent candidates belonging to the Congress in the fray has made the election a keen contest.

The last date of withdrawal of papers is June 3.

The important candidates in fray are Sanjay Dutt, Hussain Dalwai and Dipti Chaudhary (Congress), Ramraje Naik Nimbalkar, Vinayak Mete, Prakash Binsale (NCP), Shobha Phadanvis, Dhananjay Munde (BJP) and Diwakar Raote, Anil Parab (Shiv Sena).

The 288 elected members of the Legislative Assembly form the electoral college for the biennial election to the Upper House.