DMK candidates file nominations for RS polls

Chennai: Three DMK candidates today filed their nominations for the Rajya Sabha elections scheduled for June 17.

K P Ramalingam, S Thangavel and T N Selvaganapathy submitted the papers to Assembly Secretary M Selvaraj in the presence of Deputy Chief Minister M K Stalin and Union Ministers A Raja and M K Alagiri.

Scrutiny will be held on June 8 and the last date for withdrawal is June 10.

Six seats from Tamil Nadu are vacant in the Upper House. The opposition AIADMK has announced two nominees for the biennial polls today.