TDP considers candidates for Telangana by-polls

Hyderabad: Main opposition TDP is understood to have considered the names of at least seven candidates for the ensuing by-elections in Telangana region, even as the Election Commission announced the poll schedule today.

The likely nominees are -- Gone Hanumantha Rao (Mancherial), Ch Sudhakar Rao (Vemulawada), Aleem (Nizamabad Urban), M Damodar Reddy (Huzurabad), Boda Janardhan (Chennur), P Rajyalakshmi (Sirpur Kagaznagar) and S Viswanath (Korutla).

The party, however, maintained that no names had been finalised yet for the by-polls and the respective candidates were only "under consideration".

TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu is leaving on a two-day trip to Vizinagaram district in north-coastal Andhra tomorrow and the party candidates for the by-elections will be finalised only after his return to Hyderabad, party sources said.

Naidu today held parleys with his senior colleagues from the region and deliberated on the strategy for the by-polls.

The party decided to raise people's problems and highlight the state government's failures rather than take up the controversial statehood issue in the by-poll campaign, according to senior party leaders.

The TDP would highlight how the Andhra Pradesh government failed to prevent Maharashtra from constructing the Babli irrigation project on Godavari.

By-elections to ten Assembly seats in Telangana region will be held on July 27, the Election Commission announced today.

Though there are 12 vacancies, election petitions are pending with regard to two Assembly seats -- Vemulawada and Sircilla, as the petitioners have sought to be declared elected, the EC said.