Bihar elections: JD(U) list for 1st, 2nd phase polls released

Patna: Ruling JD(U) today released a list of 54 candidates for the first and second phase of the Bihar Assembly elections retaining sitting MLAs except in Madhepura.

As per the list, Ramendra Kumar Ravi, a senior JD(U) leader, will replace sitting legislator Manindra Kumar Mandal in Madhepura.

The party also gave ticket to Izhar Ahmed for Gaura Bauram in Darbhanga district for crossing over from LJP headed by Ram Vilas Paswan.

JD(U), a partner of the NDA, will contest in 54 of the 92 seats in the first two phases of polling to be held on October 21 and October 24. In the first phase, the party will try its luck in 26 out of 47 seats and in the second phase in 28 out of the 45 seats.

The party declared its candidates a day after its partner BJP released the list of 87 contestants against the 102 seats it has decided to contest.

The list was declared after a marathon exercise by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar with JD(U) national president Sharad Yadav during the past three days.

Among those who figured in the list were state ministers Renu Kumari (Bihariganj), Narendra Narain Yadav (Alamnagar), Bijendra Prasad Yadav (Supaul), Hariprasad Shah (Laukaha), and Ramnath Thakur (Samastipur), besides state JD(U) chief Vijay Kumar Choudhary (Sarairanjan) and Ramai Ram (Bochaha), who had recently resigned as chairman of Bihar Scheduled Caste Commission.