R-Day parade: ITBP best marching contingent

New Delhi: The Indo-Tibetan Border Police was Tuesday awarded with the best marching contingent trophy for the Republic Day parade this year.

The trophy was received by ITBP Additional Director General Dilip Trivedi from Defence Minister A K Antony.

ITBP was represented by a contingent of 148-personnel, led by Assistant Commandant M D Singh, who showcased an impressive marchpast on the Rajpath on January 26.

The ITBP has won the trophy earlier too in 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2004.

The force guards 3,488-kilometre long Sino-Indian frontier.