Andhra CM rules out possibility of imposing Prez rule

Hyderabad: Ruling out the possibility of imposing President's rule in Andhra Pradesh, Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy on Friday said the current political uncertainty prevailing in the state was just like "passing clouds" and would not last long.

"These (problems) are passing clouds. Everything will settle down in next three to six months," he told reporters in his Assembly chambers.

Asked about the possibility of President's rule being imposed because of the ongoing political turmoil, he said it could not happen easily.

"Parliament has to discuss and approve the imposition of President's rule. I don't think that will happen. In fact, there is no need," Kiran Kumar remarked.

He also maintained that his government would last till 2014. "Congress will retain power in 2014 as well."

Kiran Kumar, who completed 100 days in office as chief minister today, noted that there had been "many speed breakers in my path" during the journey.

"Only time will resolve certain issues," he observed, in an oblique reference to the turmoil over the statehood issue.

On the resignation of Endowments Minister Jupalli Krishna Rao, he said he had only received a copy of his resignation letter to Congress president Sonia Gandhi.

It was for madam to take a decision, he said.

"He is my colleague. We have been MLAs together for three terms. I will definitely try to convince him (to withdraw the resignation)," Kiran said, in reply to another question.

The chief minister said the Praja Rajyam Party and the Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen have requested for one seat each in the Legislative Council, elections for which would be held later this month, in the Assembly quota.

"They are our friends and we have sent the request to the Congress high command," he said.

About the thin attendance by the ruling party MLAs in the Assembly, Kiran said while some members from Telangana were abstaining, some others were attending.

"Today is the last day for filing nominations for the Legislative Council elections from the Local Authorities Constituencies and hence MLAs from the respective districts are attending that," he clarified.