Attack on MNS MLA: Two cops suspended, probe against 2 others

Mumbai: Two police officers have been suspended in connection with the assault on MNS MLA Harshvardhan Jadhav by the police at Aurangabad, Maharashtra Home Minister R R Patil said Friday.

Patil informed the state Legislative Assembly a day after legislators demanded action against police officers and the House had to be adjourned thrice as opposition MLAs rushed into the well and shouted slogans, blaming him for the incident.

Police inspector Abhiman Pawar and PSI Suryakant Kokne have been suspended for their involvement in the attack, Patil told the House.

An IG level inquiry will be conducted against Additional Superintendent of Police Arvind Chavdiya and PSI S Palvade, he added.

Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan had constituted a seven-member committee to review the matter after ruckus in the Lower House yesterday over the attack.

The committee will be headed by the Home Minister and include Cooperatives Minister Harshwardhan Patil, PWP MLA Ganpatrao Deshmukh, NCP MLA Dilip Sopal, Leader of Opposition Eknath Khadse (BJP), Shiv Sena group leader Subhash Desai and MNS group leader Bala Nandgaonkar.

Jadhav was beaten by police during Chief Minister's visit to Aurangabad in January, as he allegedly broke through the security cordon.