IUML announces the names for the two pending seats

Malappuram (Kerala): Indian Union Muslim League (IUML), Kerala unit, on Monday announced the candidates for the two assembly constituencies, which was kept pending, for the April 13 state assembly elections.

Former Public Works minister and a senior leader of IUML, P K K Bava, has been selected to contest from Iravipuram assembly constituency in Kollam district, while Ashraf Kokkur will be the candidate for the Guruvayoor assembly constituency in thrissur district, a IUML release said here. Kokkur is the Malappuram District IUML Secretary.

Earlier on March 17, IUML State President Panakkad Syed Hyderali Shihab Thankgal had announced the names of 22 candidates, out of the 24 seats allotted to the party.

Prominent leaders who are in the electoral field includes former minister and State IUML General Secretary, P K Kunhalikutty (Vengara), IUML Secretary Dr M K Munir (Kozhikode South), IUML Secretary Abdu Samadani (Kottackal), former industries minister, V K Ibrahim Kunju (Kalamassery), Muslim League Youth President K M Shaji (Azhikode) and Manjalamkuzhi Ali (Perinthalmanna), the ldf-supported independent MLA, who had quit the membership and joined IUML.