Nine Sena-BJP MLAs suspended from Maharashtra Assembly

Mumbai: Nine Shiv Sena-BJP MLAs were Thursday suspended from the Maharashtra Assembly for disrupting the budget presentation by Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar yesterday.

Opposition MLAs had shouted slogans throughout the budget speech yesterday.

The nine MLAs include five Sena members and four BJP members. They are: Vinod Ghosalkar, Ravindra Waikar, Pratap Sarnaik, Eknath Shinde and Vijay Shivtare (all Shiv Sena); Harish Pimpley, Girish Mahajan, Vijay Deshmukh, Sardar Tara Singh (BJP).

The motion was moved by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Harshvardhan Patil in the Lower House today, seeking permission of the House to prevent the legislators from entering the Assembly premises till December 31, 2011, with effect from today.

Patil said the opposition legislators had maligned the image of the House with their conduct which was telecast live.

He said the MLAs should be suspended for slogan-shouting,

displaying banners and not obeying directives of the chair.

The motion was passed by a voice vote.

Leader of Opposition Eknath Khadse (BJP) demanded a division of vote on the motion, which went unheard in the din.

He criticised the government for suppressing the voice of the opposition on the strength of majority.

Earlier, the House had to be adjourned twice when ruling Congress-NCP legislators sought action against the opposition members for disrupting the budget presentation.

Shashikant Shinde (NCP) said the opposition MLAs should be suspended and he was supported by Vijay Waddetiwar (Congress) and others.