Vineenl Krishna shifted out of Malkangiri, posted in ST&SC dept

Bhubaneswar: Malkangiri District Collector R Vineel Krishna whose abduction by Maoists in February sparked a nationwide outcry, was among the eight Collectors and seven secretaries who had been transferred as part of a major bureaucratic reshuffle today, official sources said.

Krishna, a 2005 batch IAS officer, was on leave ever since he was released by Maoist in last week of February after the state government entered into an agreement with the three naxal selected mediators.

Krishna was transferred and posted as director of Scheduled Tribe and Scheduled Caste Development department.

Besides, Krishna, Kandhamal district collector Krishna Kumar, whose work during the ethno-communal riot in 2008 was praised by Union Home minister P Chidambaram, was also transferred and posted as the collector, Ganjam district.

Ganjam collector V Kartikyan Pandian was transferred and posted as Private Secretary to the chief minister while Koraput district collector R P Patil was named as the new collector of Kandhamal district.

Others who were transferred and posted as collectors include- D V Swamy (Keonjhar), S Balwant (Malkangiri), Arabind Agarwal (Sambalpur), S P Mishra (Angul), R P Singh (Gajapati) and T S Ramachandra (Koraput).