HC admits writ challenging Orissa FM's election

Cuttack: The Orissa High Court has admitted writ petitions challenging the election of Finance Minister Prafulla Chandra Ghadei from Sukinda constituency and an Independent candidate from Champua in 2009 assembly polls.

Hearing the maintainability of the writs jointly, a single-judge bench of Justice R N Biswal yesterday admitted the petitions pertaining to Sukinda and Champua seats, and rejected the same for Dhenkanal.

The elections of Ghadei of BJD from Sukinda in Jajpur district, Independent legislator Jitu Patnaik from Champua in Keonjhar district and Navin Nanda of NCP from Dhenkanal constituencies were challenged in the court by the respective losing candidates in separate petitions.

Senior Congress leader Sarat Rout had lost to Ghadei, while Sanatan Mahakud, also of Congress, was defeated by mines owner Patnaik from Champua.