Six SP MLAs join BSP

Lucknow: Six MLAs of Samajwadi Party on Friday joined ruling BSP ahead of Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh.

SP MLAs Ashok Singh Chandel (Hamirpur), Sarvesh Singh Seepu (Azamgarh), Sandeep Agarwal (Moradabad), Surendra Singh Lod (Unnao), Suraj Singh Shakya (Etah) and Sultan Beg (Bareilly) joined BSP in front of state party president Swami Prasad Maurya and other senior leaders at central hall of vidhan bhawan.

Maurya said that more SP MLAs were likely to join the party.

Of the six SP MLAs, Sarvesh Singh Seepu, Ashok Chandel and Sandeep Agarwal were suspended by the Samajwadi Party in February last year when they joined Lok Manch, a party floated by Amar Singh after his expulsion from the Samajwadi Party. However, they were not suspended from the primary membership of the party and are sitting SP MLAs.