Varma, Neha top seeds at NSCI tournament

Varma, Neha top seeds at NSCI tournament Mumbai: Saurabh Varma of Petroleum Sport Promotion Board and Neha Pandit of Airports Authority of India have been given top billings in the men's and women's singles respectively in the NSCI All India Senior Ranking Badminton Tournament starting here on August 27.

World no. 25 and former national champion P Kashyap has been seeded seventh while top India players Ajay Jayaram and Anup Sridhar have not been seeded for want of sufficient ranking points in the Rs 5-lakh prize money tournament to be held in the Sardar Vallabhai Patel Stadium courts in Worli.

The draw is of 24 players in both the singles events while men's doubles and mixed doubles would have 12 pairs each and women's doubles 11.

There are 145 entries in the qualifying rounds of the men's singles, to be held on the first two days of the five- day event, while in the women's singles there are 31.

The seedings:

Men's singles: 1. Saurabh Varma, 2. B Sai Praneet, 3. H S Prannoy (all PSPB), 4. Pratul Joshi (AI), 5. K Nandagopal, 6. B Sumeet Reddy (both AAI), 7. P Kashyap (PSPB) 8. Mohit Kamat (Rlys).

Women's singles: 1. Neha Pandit (AAI), 2. Arundhati Pantawane (PSPB), 3. P C Thulasi (Ker), 4. Sayali Gokhale (AI), 5. Anita Ohlan (Rlys), 6. Aditi Mutatkar (PSPB), 7. Sampada Sahasrabudhe (AAI), 8. Dhanya Nair (Rlys).